Lata Mangeshkar: 'Hemaji Has Transformed Mathura'
Bollywood News

Lata Mangeshkar: 'Hemaji Has Transformed Mathura'

Lata Mangeshkar couldn't make it for the swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi. However, she is happy for him as well as friend Hema Malini who won her seat from Mathura constituency

India’s Nightingale, the mighty Lata Mangeshkar  is saddened  by the fact that she couldn’t attend  PM Narendra  Modi’s swearing in  ceremony. Narendra Modi had invited a number of Bollywood celebrities to his swearing-in ceremony that was held a few days ago, after his landslide victory in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha polls. A lot of A-listers - from Kangana Ranaut and Karan Johar to Vivek Oberoi and Shahid Kapoor were part of the entourage who attended the ceremony that had around 8000 people in the crowd. 

Lata Mangeshkar is a Modi supporter like most of Bollywood and was happy at the PM's victory but she couldn't make it for the event. “I  wasn’t keeping well. I sent him my best wishes. My sister (Asha  Bhosle) was there  to  represent our family,” says Lataji, adding  that she  would soon be meeting Modiji to personally  convey her  congratulations.

“His second term as  our country’s prime  minister has begun. The people of India have  voted well,"she says. "They have proved that they know how to use their  voting power sensibly. And  Modiji is  going to bring many changes  and reforms in the  next five years. I am sure  of  that. He will  take our country  towards  being a  super-power.” says Lataji.

She’s also very proud of Hema Malini  who is now serving a second term in the Lok Sabha as the MP from Mathura. Says Lataji, “I believe Hemaji has transformed Mathura beyond recognition. I am a huge Krishna bhakt. To hear of  the  city where Krishna Bhagwan was born as being transformed into a beautified  haven is  very gratifying. I hope other  holy cities in India also become clean and healthy and places where worship comes  naturally to visitors.”

Hema Malini was among the few Bollywood candidates who had won from their respective constituencies. While Sunny Deol, Kirron Kher and Hema Malini won, their Bollywood counterparts like Urmila Matondkar and Prakash Raj lost the elections.